top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

How to Plan a Trip for 15+ People


Hey guys!!


I know planning a family trip can be daunting, but it doesn't have to be. My mom will be 50 next year and wants to take a trip. She invited 25 people!! 😳😳


Yea...


So, to me it isn't worth it to hire a travel agent. In terms convenience, it does alleviate the stress associated with planning a trip for a large group. But the inflated costs that come with hiring a travel agent...can't bring myself to do it. I'd rather do my research and plan ahead. Without further ado, I present my minimal stress method of planning for large groups:


1. Plan early!

Life is unpredictable. It is extremely hard to get 15 or more people on the same schedule. I advise giving everyone due notice to account for incidentals. I like to plan 9-12 months ahead of time so that I can start saving money. Also, depending on what time of year you are planning this trip, some resorts and hotels are completely booked a year in advance. When planning for large groups time is of the essence.


2. Pick a destination

If all of the guests attending the trip live in various locations I think it's important to consider their travel time and different modes of transportation. For example, if someone has a spouse and children it is unreasonable to expect them to fly. With that being said I think finding a location that is somewhat central to everyone is essential, a place that takes no more than 5-6 hours to drive to. But it all depends on the occasion and purpose for the trip. We chose Destin, Florida. No one will have to drive more than 5 hours and there are activities for everyone, you can't go wrong with a beach town.


3. Accommodations

Rent a house. I know some people feel uneasy about staying in someone else's house but it is the way to go when planning large group trips. When you think about how much it is per night at a hotel and having to book multiple rooms, renting a house is cheaper. When everyone is staying under the same roof promotes bonding and makes it feel more like a family trip. Most homes are designed with vacationers in mind these days so it doesn't feel like you're crashing a house that someone actively lives in.


How did I find a house to accommodate that many people? I went to Home Away, FlipKey, and Airbnb. Once on the sites I typed in the destination and the number of guests. After that, I narrowed the search by deciding what the budget was. I wanted it to be cost effective for everyone. My mom's birthday is July 3rd. The week of 4th of July is the MOST EXPENSIVE week to travel! The rental rate during that week is double the amount it normally is. I didn't want the cost to exceed $70 per night/per person so that's how I landed on the budget. Disclaimer: there may be little math involved but you can do it!


If you feel like a house fits all of your criteria, email or call the owner. Pick a few, email them all and tell them what you're looking for. Ask if they have a minimum night stay, if they have any additional fees (security deposit or cleaning fee), and make sure everything on the listing is correct. Depending on who you book your vacation house through, the entire balance does not have to be paid upfront. If you don't have to pay the full balance get confirmation via email that the property is actually booked.


This was THE TOUGHEST PART. Once you've secured accommodations, everything else will be a breeze, I promise.


4. Start an event using E-Vite.

E-vite has been a God send! Once you have entered the email addresses for all desired guests and sent the invitation you will have a social platform to interact with everyone on. It is set up similar to Facebook. You can add photos, make lists on what to bring, etc. It's awesome. When planning activities I started a survey to get ideas. They also have a mobile app so you can get real-time updates from your guests. This app definitely spared me a few headaches.


*sidebar*

Another tool that may be useful is Travefy. It was designed specifically to collaboratively plan group travel. You can even collect payments and track balances within the platform. I've never used it but it seems pretty nifty. I'm also unsure as to whether or not they charge processing fees on the payments collected, they probably do.


5. Set a date

If you don't already have dates in mind, refer back to E-vite and take a poll. E-vite allows you to conduct polls with all of the guests you invited. Throw some dates out and wait for the feedback.


6. TAKE DEPOSITS

This is the most important part. Of course everybody's interested because they have faith that you will plan an amazing getaway. But the number will dwindle as time passes. You have to know how many people are coming. Many places who offer group rates and discounts have a minimum. Provide a deadline for a deposit to be paid and only plan for the ones who have paid. As stated above, the entire balance may not have to be paid to hold the property, just a portion.


We found our vacation property on Home Away but the home itself is owned by a vacation rental realty company. We rented a house from Southern Vacation Rentals and they've been great. We were able to call them and only pay 1/3 of the balance up front. That deposit was to hold the house 14 months in advance. They sent a confirmation email along with additional information to pay the remaining balance at least 2 months prior to check-in. I paid the reservation fee but I provided a deadline to collect a reservation fee from everyone interested in going. This way I would be reimbursed for the initial deposit and you won't be stuck paying the entire balance alone. It is also helpful to collect money to have a definite number for people who are coming. People are more proactive when they have skin in the game.


7. Follow up

Keep your guests in the loop. Whether you created an event on E-Vite or chose to start an email lists, give everyone updates. If you allowed guests to make payment arrangements, send 30-day reminders prior to the due dates. Send pictures of the house and the anticipated activities, build the excitement.


That's all I've got.


I hope you all found this helpful. I have a chart and spreadsheet that I used during the planning process, if you'd like it let me know. We love questions, please feel free to ask. Leave any tips you have below. Talk to you later!!


-Demetria








bottom of page