top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

10 Reasons Why I Love to Travel


10 reasons why I love to travel

​​Traveling, (even though I do not travel nearly as much as I'd like to) has become my obsession. I have been on the go for as long as I can remember. My mom and I moved from Talladega, Alabama to Gainesville, Florida when I was little. We drove back and forth often and I spent the summers with my grandparents. Summertime meant family reunions. We would drive EVERYWHERE. It was then that I decided I wanted to visit every state. As I grew older, I wanted to see what the rest of the world had to offer. I have yet to get my passport, but I've made a vow to get it next month! In the meantime, I've been traveling to destinations that do not require a Passport (taking cruises & U.S. Virgin Islands). Travel is truly my passion, these are the things that keep me going:


1. Creating new experiences


Every time I visit a new place I try to engage in an activity that is unique to that location. If they offer zip-lining, I do it. I've zip-lined before but the scenery is drastically different everywhere you go. If I go back to Mexico, I would like to horseback ride through the Mayan ruins, you can't do that anywhere else in the world! When in New Orleans, you have to catch a secondline!


2. Escape from Reality


While I appreciate having a job, it's not what I want to do for the rest of my life. Taking a vacation allows me to escape my reality for a little while.


3. Good Food!


This goes without saying, good food is the best part! I only go to local restaurants and ask for what they're famous for. I haven't been let down yet.


4. Reset


Whatever was bothering me doesn't seem to matter anymore once I've been on vacation. I'm refreshed and get to start over.


5. Motivation


For me, the ability to travel makes it all worth it. Knowing I have a vacation coming up makes me feel better. I have something to show for all of my hard work. Nothing at work get me down because I'm always thinking, "You know what? I'm getting ready to go on vacation."


6. Meet new people


I've met some of the sweetest people during my travels. It is so reassuring knowing that strangers could be so genuine, warm, and welcoming. Low Country South Carolina is one of the most hospitable places I've ever been, but that's another post.


7. Culture


I am always blown away by the differences in which everyone does things. I am always intrigued by the varying beliefs in spirituality. I learn something new in every place that I've been, it's exciting.


8. New Languages


It's one thing to learn a new language, the real test is when you have to put to use, it's the crash course. I think it's rude to visit someone in their native country and not make an attempt to communicate with them in their language. Call me crazy, but I enjoy the challenge that comes with trying to learn new languages. There are a lot of apps out there that make it fun. YouTube is a lifesaver! Oh and let us not forget about all of the twangs and slangs that we have here in different parts of the US. As a Southerner, I have to say, we have our own language.


9. Kassidy


I want my daughter to know that the sky is the limit. I want her to take in as much as she can. She wants to visit every country, who am I to tell her she can't? There is so much to learn. There are people who aren't as fortunate as we are, there are also people who live much differently than we do, and it's all okay. What better lesson than to see for herself?


10. Joy


The joy I get from the experiences I gain from traveling is better than anything money can buy. The Wanderlust bug has bitten me. What's that quote? "Money can't buy happiness, but it buys plane tickets, and that's pretty close."



Why do you love to travel?

bottom of page